Hello World!

I have been (re)born.  I have (re)created a blog account due to my recent reading of blogs of my friends and some of my former students.  I figure I still want to document, articulate and communicate my thoughts, especially now that I’m no longer in the academe. Blogging is a discipline too. It’s not a random exercise.  Thus, I hope to be ‘disciplined’ enough to update this from time to time.

To start off, I’d like to share the roots of my web identity, boomanism.

Back in freshman college,  I was overwhelmed with the different theories of the world that have caused numerous social movements throughout history.  I was so interested in different perspectives, particularly those of the Marxist theories and the post-structuralist ones and how they have somehow described the plight of the powerless.

Fascinated, I remember dreaming of someday having my own theory, affecting my society, thus I coined boomanism.

Speaking of power, I am excited to see how cybersociologists take off from the ground and dominate societal discourses in the ever-changing world of the Internet.  I find how governments and institutions try to ‘protect’ their citizens from banning the use of some websites in order to control power.  But as I see it, power and knowledge will continuously democratized as the netizens continue to widen their space for discourse, hopefully moving to another social transformation for development.

On another note, this opportunity for social movements might just be a fanfare.  I criticize some of the youth who are lazy activists on the net, who fail to push for true reforms on the ground.  You won’t be able to truly help breast cancer if you’ve just posted the color of your bra or the location where you put your purse.

Thus, the challenge for us is to use all mediums to realize reforms.  The web is a powerful space nowadays, let’s use it but not stop there.

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Hello World!

  1. Mr WordPress 10.24.2010 at 4.06 am Reply

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

