Reviewing My 2012: Part 1

SONY DSCReviewing My 2012: Part 1

It has been my habit of reviewing my year that has passed to see if I had a good year or not.  I usually look to highlight moments of joy & pain, successes & setbacks, and triumphs & tribulations.  Being a teacher, I try to capture the year with a letter grade, a personal standard that I set for my experiences.

As I recall, I did have ‘low years’ when troubles and insecurity came my way.  But of recent, I’ve been having ‘good years’.  Part of it is a changing perspective of how I look at the world and how the world looks at me.  I’ve decided to just let go of things that I can’t control perhaps and just enjoy what’s in front of me.

Let me share some of my moments.  Maybe, you can start listing down your own too.

Mundane & Meaningful Everyday

  • Sushi & beer with officemates after work for traffic to subside
  • Morning drive with Mom, then picking up boss-friend
  • Random turn-your-world-upside-down-texting with officemate-friend
  • Walking with a friend around campus at nights
  • Spontaneous coffee/lunch/dinner dates with good friends
  • Playing with Xyrus before his bedtime
  • Looping topics of conversation with Xyrus while driving
  • Silent moments with girlfriend

This list may be normal for others but I’ve come to appreciate these the past year.  I’ve particularly enjoyed talking to friends and loved ones, just catching up or the usual everyday topics.  Even nonsensical themes were entertaining.

For example, taking Mom to work may be common, but I enjoyed listening to her stories.  On the other hand, my godson kept talking about Mr. Bean and Oggy & the Cockroaches.   I would always ask him the same questions, react with the same emotions & laugh at his antics.

These little recurring events in our lives may be brushed away because it has become routine for some time, yet, if we be more sensitive and present to the things that we do, we may recognize how these small ones add up to a big beautiful life.

To be continued!

6 January 2013 | Marden, SA

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Reviewing My 2012: Part 1

  1. Piscis 01.13.2013 at 12.50 am Reply

    Sounds like not a bad year so far!

    • boomanism 01.13.2013 at 1.00 am Reply

      Yep! It was a good year indeed.

Leave a Reply

