‘Till We’re 70

It’s an exciting time for a number of my friends as it’s wedding season for them – either they got married recently or will be marrying in the next year. One particular couple decided to do a DIY wedding and we gladly helped out.

There was one meeting when our younger friends just attended an Ed Sheeran’s concert and were in bliss singing his songs. They even suggested playing some of his songs during the reception.

Out of touch, I researched his songs to know if these were truly catchy and apt for the wedding.

The song, “Thinking Out Loud,” particularly caught my attention. The melody was lovely and romantic that it fit for the wedding reception. The couple liked ‘current’ songs; thus, we put it in the playlist.

The lyrics particularly caught my attention:

“When your legs don’t work like they used to before
And I can’t sweep you off of your feet
Will your mouth still remember the taste of my love?
Will your eyes still smile from your cheeks?”

Is it possible in this time and age to sustain love forever? The number of broken marriages and families in the world is currently at a growing rate, and still, couples decide to commit to long-term relationships.

Then, the song answers my rhetoric.

“And darling I will be loving you ’til we’re 70
And baby my heart could still fall as hard at 23
And I’m thinking ’bout how people fall in love in mysterious ways
Maybe just the touch of a hand
Well, me I fall in love with you every single day”

The last line particularly struck me. Long-term relationships perhaps are built on everyday loving decisions. Great love stories are founded on choices done not only during special occasions, but also on routinely, boring days and conflict-filled and trying moments. Probably, one could look at loving another person as grace – an everyday gift and opportunity uniquely and personally given to us.

Once, I went to a park to read a book and have a relaxing afternoon. I came across a couple in their seventies, affectionately preparing merienda for each other. Slower than usual, the man was kindly preparing their sandwiches and the woman was pouring juice into their glasses.

Cinematic, a cliché, yet real.

I smiled at them, and walked away consoled on the possibility of loving ‘till 70.

9 May 2015 | Antipolo, the Philippines

Reference:
http://www.directlyrics.com/ed-sheeran-thinking-out-loud-lyrics.html

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

